Developing for FRDM-KL25Z platform in Linux – Building

Posted: Mar 13, 2014 in Tech
Tags: , , , ,

português

Table of contents:

  1. Introduction
  2. Crosstoolchain
  3. Building
  4. Flashing
  5. Debugging

Despite a fair amount of tuning parameters is required to be passed to the builder, conceptually the process of building proper ARM executables for FRDM-KL25Z board is virtually the same as every other software building based on compilation and linking:

  • Preprocessing, where preprocessor symbols are resolved for each source code file (.c) of the project;
  • Compilation, where the results of preprocessing are parsed and an object code file (.o) is generated for each source code file. Object files contain machine code descriptions of functions written by the programmer;
  • Linking, where all object code files of the project are combined among themselves and with system libraries for resolution of function call dependencies. Typically the main result of the linking stage is an executable file for the target CPU architecture.

As an example of building I wrote a simple RGB LED blinking program for FRDM-KL25Z; please unpack it somewhere in your filesystem: frdm-kl25z-blink3-1.0.tar.gz

frdm-kl25z-blink3 was originally developed with CodeWarrior 10.4 for Windows, the official IDE from Freescale for development on kinetis and other products at the time of this writing. Codewarrior is delivered as an Eclipse based bundle and has a free (as in “free beer”) release for Windows that allows quick initial setup of board resources using Freescale Processor Expert technology. For Linux building of this CodeWarrior project I grabbed the following directories of the project’s workspace:

  • Generated_Code (allocation of board resources)
  • Project_Settings/Linker_Files (linker definitions)
  • Project_Settings/Startup_Code (registration of external function calls for program startup and termination)
  • Sources (event callbacks and main program entry point, this is where virtually all further development takes place after board resource configuration)

Moreover, as these files were generated by Processor Expert, for proper preprocessing and linking they depend on additional CodeWarrior system headers and ARM libraries. You need the following directories from a (Windows) CodeWarrior installation:

  • MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl (Freescale Embedded Warrior Libraries)
  • MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc (Kinetis PDD headers)

If you don’t have access to a Windows installation of CodeWarrior, you can as well download the free CodeWarrior for Microcontrollers 10.4 (Eclipse, offline) installer from Freescale, open it with file-roller (or other archive manager of your choice) and:

  • unzip com.freescale.mcu10_4.kinetis.updatesite.zip, unzip binary/com.freescale.kinetis.gcc_root_1.0.2, and copy MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl
  • unzip Setup.exe, and copy $_OUTDIR/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc

The frdm-kl25z-blink3 project comes with a configuration script for checking the existence of these system directories as well as other issues that may affect the building. Edit build.sh for updating PDD_HEADERS_DIR and EWL_DIR with the correct locations of the above mentioned directories, and execute it for building the frdm_kl25z_blink3 ELF file for ARM:

user@localhost /tmp/frdm-kl25z-blink3-1.0 $ ./build.sh
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for arm-none-eabi-strip... arm-none-eabi-strip
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether make supports nested variables... yes
checking for arm-none-eabi-gcc... arm-none-eabi-gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... yes
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether arm-none-eabi-gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for arm-none-eabi-gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking dependency style of arm-none-eabi-gcc... gcc3
checking if Generated_Code/IO_Map.h exists in sources... yes
checking for Kinetis PDD headers location... /opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
checking for GPIO_PDD.h... yes
checking for LPTMR_PDD.h... yes
checking for EWL headers location... /opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl
checking how to run the C preprocessor... arm-none-eabi-gcc -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /bin/grep
checking for egrep... /bin/grep -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... no
checking for sys/stat.h... no
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... no
checking for strings.h... no
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... no
checking ansi_parms.h usability... yes
checking ansi_parms.h presence... yes
checking for ansi_parms.h... yes
checking CWCPlusLib.h usability... yes
checking CWCPlusLib.h presence... yes
checking for CWCPlusLib.h... yes
checking runtime_configuration.h usability... yes
checking runtime_configuration.h presence... yes
checking for runtime_configuration.h... yes
checking if Project_Settings/Linker_Files/ProcessorExpert.ld exists in sources... yes
checking for __init_registers in -lrt... yes
checking that generated files are newer than configure... done
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating config.h
config.status: executing depfiles commands
make  all-am
make[1]: Entering directory `/tmp/frdm-kl25z-blink3-1.0'
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT BlueLED.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/BlueLED.Tpo -c -o BlueLED.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/BlueLED.c'
|| echo './'`Generated_Code/BlueLED.c
mv -f .deps/BlueLED.Tpo .deps/BlueLED.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT Cpu.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/Cpu.Tpo -c -o Cpu.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/Cpu.c' || echo
'./'`Generated_Code/Cpu.c
mv -f .deps/Cpu.Tpo .deps/Cpu.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf
-O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT
GreenLED.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/GreenLED.Tpo -c -o GreenLED.o `test -f
'Generated_Code/GreenLED.c' || echo './'`Generated_Code/GreenLED.c
mv -f .deps/GreenLED.Tpo .deps/GreenLED.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf
-O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT
LEDTimer.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/LEDTimer.Tpo -c -o LEDTimer.o `test -f
'Generated_Code/LEDTimer.c' || echo './'`Generated_Code/LEDTimer.c
mv -f .deps/LEDTimer.Tpo .deps/LEDTimer.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT PE_LDD.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/PE_LDD.Tpo -c -o PE_LDD.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/PE_LDD.c'
|| echo './'`Generated_Code/PE_LDD.c
mv -f .deps/PE_LDD.Tpo .deps/PE_LDD.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT RedLED.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/RedLED.Tpo -c -o RedLED.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/RedLED.c'
|| echo './'`Generated_Code/RedLED.c
mv -f .deps/RedLED.Tpo .deps/RedLED.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT TU1.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/TU1.Tpo -c -o TU1.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/TU1.c' || echo
'./'`Generated_Code/TU1.c
mv -f .deps/TU1.Tpo .deps/TU1.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT Vectors.o -MD
-MP -MF .deps/Vectors.Tpo -c -o Vectors.o `test -f 'Generated_Code/Vectors.c'
|| echo './'`Generated_Code/Vectors.c
mv -f .deps/Vectors.Tpo .deps/Vectors.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf
-O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0
-MT __arm_end.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/__arm_end.Tpo -c -o __arm_end.o
`test -f 'Project_Settings/Startup_Code/__arm_end.c' || echo
'./'`Project_Settings/Startup_Code/__arm_end.c
mv -f .deps/__arm_end.Tpo .deps/__arm_end.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf
-O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT
__arm_start.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/__arm_start.Tpo -c -o __arm_start.o
`test -f 'Project_Settings/Startup_Code/__arm_start.c' || echo
'./'`Project_Settings/Startup_Code/__arm_start.c
mv -f .deps/__arm_start.Tpo .deps/__arm_start.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT Events.o
-MD -MP -MF .deps/Events.Tpo -c -o Events.o `test -f 'Sources/Events.c' ||
echo './'`Sources/Events.c
mv -f .deps/Events.Tpo .deps/Events.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf
-O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT
ProcessorExpert.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/ProcessorExpert.Tpo -c -o ProcessorExpert.o
`test -f 'Sources/ProcessorExpert.c' || echo './'`Sources/ProcessorExpert.c
mv -f .deps/ProcessorExpert.Tpo .deps/ProcessorExpert.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -I./Sources -I./Generated_Code
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ProcessorExpert/lib/Kinetis/pdd/inc
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_C/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include
-I/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/EWL_Runtime/include/arm
-mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2 -gstrict-dwarf -O0
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0 -MT sa_mtb.o
-MD -MP -MF .deps/sa_mtb.Tpo -c -o sa_mtb.o `test -f 'Sources/sa_mtb.c' ||
echo './'`Sources/sa_mtb.c
mv -f .deps/sa_mtb.Tpo .deps/sa_mtb.Po
arm-none-eabi-gcc  -mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -mfloat-abi=soft -g3 -gdwarf-2
-gstrict-dwarf -O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -Wall -fmessage-length=0
-Xlinker --gc-sections -n -L/opt/Freescale/MCU/ARM_GCC_Support/ewl/lib/armv6-m
-T./Project_Settings/Linker_Files/ProcessorExpert.ld -o frdm_kl25z_blink3
BlueLED.o Cpu.o GreenLED.o LEDTimer.o PE_LDD.o RedLED.o TU1.o Vectors.o
__arm_end.o __arm_start.o Events.o ProcessorExpert.o sa_mtb.o  -lrt
make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/frdm-kl25z-blink3-1.0'

frdm_kl25z_blink3: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, ARM, EABI5 version 1 (SYSV),
statically linked, not stripped

Next in Flashing we record the frdm_kl25z_blink3 ELF to the FRDM-KL25Z board for execution.

Leave a Reply

